The European Cinema Awards 2020 intoxicated by Drunk by Thomas Vinterberg

German actress Paula Beer as well as French films A triumph and Josep were also rewarded during this thirty-third ceremony.

Champagne. The 2020 European Cinema of the Year Awards ceremony honored Drunk. Created by the European Cinema Academy, this event rewards and promotes each year the best films and actors of European cinema. For this thirty-third edition, Thomas Vinterberg’s film won the day. The Swedish film won four major awards including Best Picture, Best Actor for its lead performer Mads Mikkelsen, Best Director and Best Screenwriter for Thomas Vinterberg and Tobias Lind-Holm.

Half a surprise for Drunk who was named as one of the big favorites. The feature film explores the experience of a 50-year-old history teacher, worn out, who decides to live daily with 0.5 grams of alcohol in his blood. But after drunkenness comes a hangover …

In the category of best actress, Paula Beer wins once again. After receiving a Silver Bear in the same category, the 25-year-old German actress made an impression in the film Undine.

Two French films were also honored during the ceremony. A triumph by Emmanuel Courcol, at the cinema on January 20, 2021 with Kad Merad headlining, won the prize for best comedy. She is interested in the fate of inmates who will find meaning in their existence thanks to the theater. And finally Josep by designer Aurel, a French, Belgian and Spanish co-production, won the prize for best animated film.

The European Film Awards are also an opportunity to highlight new talents, such as Carlo Sironi. 37-year-old Italian director wins Discovery Award with his film Sole, featuring a drama that has already won many awards at the festival. The opportunity also to explore the cinema of Eastern Europe, rarer in our theaters.

With Collective Affair, Romanian director Alexander Nanau opens a window on the massive corruption of the Romanian public health system after a tragic fire at the Colectiv Club in Bucharest. The documentary, due on February 24, 2021, wins the first prize in its category.


About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *